Keep the Iran Deal — 10 Good Reasons Why


March 27, 2018 

A bipartisan group of 118 American national security leaders issued a statement outlining ten reasons why President Trump should keep the Iran nuclear deal. 

The signatories includes 49 retired flag officers of the U.S. military; 19 former members of Congress and 31 former U.S. ambassadors, including five former U.S. ambassadors to Israel. 

Prominent signatories include former National Security Advisor Brent Scowcroft, former Secretary of Defense Bill Perry, former Treasury Secretary Paul O’Neill; General Michael Hayden, former Director of the National Security Agency and of the Central Intelligence Agency; General James Clapper, former Director of National Intelligence; Senators Richard Lugar and Sam Nunn, and Carl Levin; Admiral William Fallon, former Commander of U.S. Central Command; and General Chuck Boyd, former Deputy Commander in Chief of U.S. European Command. 

“President Trump should maintain the U.S. commitment to the Iran nuclear deal. Doing so will bring substantial benefits and strengthen America’s hand in dealing with North Korea, as well as Iran, and help maintain the reliability of America’s word and influence as a world leader. Ditching it would serve no national security purpose,” the signatories write.

Statement of the National Coalition to Prevent an Iranian Nuclear Weapon


January 8, 2018

A bipartisan group of 52 American national security leaders issued a statement urging U.S. policymakers not to undermine the Iran nuclear agreement. They also expressed support for the rights of the Iranian people to free speech and condemned the use of force against protestors.

The signatories include: 11 former members of Congress, 12 retired flag officers of the U.S. military, and six former U.S. ambassadors to Israel. Prominent signatories include Paul O’Neill, former Secretary of Treasury; John Danforth, former Senator and Ambassador to the United Nations; Richard Lugar, former Chairman of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee; Carl Levin, former Chairman of the Senate Armed Services Committee; Lee H. Hamilton, former Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee; David Dreier, former Chairman of the House Rules Committee; General Michael Hayden, former Director of NSA and CIA; Admiral Eric Olson, former Commander of Special Forces; General Johnnie Wilson, Commanding General of U. S. Army Materiel Command; General Chuck Boyd, Deputy Commander in Chief of U.S. European Command; and Thomas Pickering and Nicholas Burns, both former Under Secretaries of State for Political Affairs. 

“We call on the Administration and the U.S. Congress, in the interest of American national security, to take no action that would place the United States in violation of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) and to remain a strong supporter of its full implementation,” they write.